Central Community Church Photos 240 Scott St, St Catharines ON 905 937 5610


Central Community Church Photos P.O Box 20309, 240 Scott St, St Catharines Ontario, Canada, L2M 7W7

905 937 5610

the idea girl says

On May 24, 2011 I went for a walk on Scott Street and took some photos of Central Community Church.  It brought back memories of my childhood while I was there.

Located between Geneva and Lake Street.  Easily Accessible to the QEW Niagara – Lake Street, heading south, make a right at first lights Scott Street.

It’s a few blocks down on your right.  If you are coming from the Fairview Mall Shopping Center located at 285 Geneva Street then you would turn left out of the mall and head south on Geneva Street.  You have two choices.  Make a left into the church parking lot which is just after several white apartment buildings on your left before the first set of lights or turn left at the first set of lights onto Scott Street and the church is there on your left.

I was blogging about the Suitcases for Kids Niagara event on Saturday May 28, 2011 from 9 am to 1 pm and found no photos of the church on google.  It used to be called Central Gospel Temple back in 1973.  I was seven years old at the time.  I attended Sunday School there along with my parents.  They used to be “bus captains” for buses #3 and ?  It may have been bus 11 I don’t remember.

There were two runs every sunday morning to pick up the kids.  Many of you from the lake street apartment building (lakeshore rd) will remember my dad singing on the bus with a microphone and 12 string guitar.   His name is Larry Randall.  Mom used to take your attendance when you got on the bus.  I was the little blonde kid that held that big huge jar (mayonnaise) full of candies and prizes during our game time on the bus.

I remember about ten  to twenty years later, many of the kids, all grown up would bump into mom and dad around town.  They would be all excited. I’d be scratching my head trying to remember them. lol

Those were fun times for me.  Kids camp at Braeside.  Pastor Rod Kalister made a big impression on my life before he died of cancer.  He was always so bubbly and energetic.  He was my youth pastor when I was about 14 years old.  Pastor Jack West was a sweet soul too.  I didn’t know him too well, except for the sunday morning hand shakes.  He’d always pat me on the head and tell me to be a good girl.

My favorite person at that church was Mr Green.  He was the janitor.  Every Saturday morning we’d go to the church around 730 am for bacon, eggs and toast and coffee.  The bus captains would have a meeting and I’d be bored.  So I would sneak upstairs and bug Mr. Green.  My favorite pesky chore was waiting for him to get to the front of the pulpit with the vacuum cleaner.  The extension cord was about 200 feet long or 100?  I’d wait till he was at the front then I’d unplug it just a little so it looked like it was his fault.

He’d come to the back grumbling and plug it back in then walk back to the front.  He’d put the vaccuum on and two minutes later I’d do it again.  I did this a few times and one day he caught me giggling about it.  I got scolded then he gave me a sucker. :)

After that I’d go see him during mom and dad’s meetings and chatter his ears off. :)

About the idea girl

Author, Blogger, Writer, Music, Entertainment, Movies, Novels, Book Reviews, Arts, Fiction, Travel, Hiking, Comedy, Humor, Jokes, Celebrity News Photos, The Power of the Platform Speakers on Life
This entry was posted in photography linda randall, St Catharines Hiking & Leisure and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Central Community Church Photos 240 Scott St, St Catharines ON 905 937 5610

  1. Wandagail Horvath-Cambron says:

    Ideagirl…..I knew Rod Kalister when we were teenagers in South Bend, Indiana. We attended church at Calvary Temple, where Cindy’s father, Pastor Jack West was pastor. I am looking for Rod’s obituary and came across your blog. Can you share any info on Cindy and children, or Pastor Jack and wife?

  2. cindy remarried rod’s best friend, jeff somebody. I believe pastor jack’s passed away years ago? they are in windsor the last time I looked, cindy was in st catharines years ago,not sure where she is now.

  3. she married him around 1991, rod died 1990 june 22, in same hospital as my son was born..

  4. rod’s obituary will be in june 1990, in the st catharines standard archives or the public library microfilms. http://www.stcatharinesstandard.ca/

  5. here’s his moms obituary with names of children.

    http://obit.bubbfuneralchapel.com/obitdisplay.html?id=886499

    Anna L. Kalister

    Born in South Bend, IN on Dec. 12, 1931
    Departed on Jan. 22, 2011 and resided in Mishawaka, IN.

    Visitation: Wednesday, Jan. 26, 2011
    11:00 am – 12 pm
    Service: Wednesday, Jan. 26, 2011
    12 pm
    Cemetery: Highland Cemetery
    Anna L. Kalister, 79, of Park Place, Mishawaka, died at her residence on Saturday, January 22nd, 2011.

    She was born in South Bend, Indiana on December 12th, 1931 to Hershel and Edith (McCullough) Duncan who both preceded her in death. She is survived by her daughter, Sandy L. (Ron) Strack of Champaign, Illinois along with six grandchildren, Stephanie Davidson of Atlanta, Stephen Strack of Richmond, Kentucky, Matthew Strack of West Point College, New York, Angela Peters of Ontario, Canada, Shawn Kalister of Colorado Springs, Colorado and Shannon Kristan of St. Catherine’s Canada. Three great grandchildren, Carly Davidson of Atlanta, Lileean Strack of Richmond, Kentucky and Chloe Peters of Canada. One sister, Alice (Carson) Langel of South Bend. She was preceded in death by her son, Rodney R. Kalister in 1990 and a sister, Mary Duncan.

    Anna was a teacher for the South Bend School System for over 40 years. She attended New Life Center in Mishawaka. Anna loved her grandchildren and enjoyed travel, golf and church.

    Funeral services will be held at 12:00pm on Wednesday at Bubb Funeral Chapel, 3910 North Main Street, Mishawaka where friends will be received for one hour prior to the services. Officiating will be her son-in-law, Pastor Ron Strack. Burial will follow at Highland Cemetery, South Bend. Memorial contributions may be made to the New Life Center.

thank you for commenting come back soon!

